Mom's Perfect Boyfriend


Mom's Perfect Boyfriend.jpg

About the Author: Crystal Hemmingway is a corporate washout and novelist. She lives in Los Angeles with her favorite person and two cats. In her spare time, Crystal enjoys binge-watching TV shows, eating sugary cereals, and pretending to write at coffee shops. Visit her website at crystalhemmingway.com

Genre: Romance, Romantic Comedy, Fiction

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Maria Semple, a smart romantic comedy about mothers and daughters, told in an addicting, fast-paced style.

Crystal has trouble saying no to her lonely, single mother. For 25 years, it wasn't a problem. But when one small mistake leaves Crystal jilted, homeless, and unemployed, she has to move back in with the person who caused it all: her mother.

Soon Crystal is sucked into her mother's vortex, partying with boomers and hawking homemade marshmallows. Desperate for some independence, she hatches a foolproof plan: get an experimental android to play her mom's "perfect" boyfriend. It's only a matter of time before her mom finds out, and Crystal will never live down the hilarious and disastrous consequences.

A story told through emails, texts, and journal entries, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend is a humorous yet deeply honest portrayal of the complicated friendship between mothers and daughters. Sometimes the people we want to rely upon the least are those who can help us the most.

 


This was a fun, quick, and cute read. As someone who enjoys epistolary novels, I picked it up when it was recommended to me by a friend.

I think Crystal did an excellent job exploring mother and daughter relationships. I enjoyed seeing the story from multiple angles and point-of-view. Some of the conversations felt very real and reminded me of conversations I’ve had with my own mom. This book also made me laugh quite a bit with some of the hilarious mixups and thought processes.

I only had two real issues with the novel. For one thing I feel like some of the information presented could have been left out as I felt it didn't add to the story. For instance, there was a screenplay that for me came out of nowhere and left me feeling very confused. I also feel like the whole concept of the book (the smart companion - Adam) wasn’t even introduced in the first act of the book and overall nothing really interesting happened until a couple of chapters in.

However, I feel like the real story here was watching the mother and daughter grow as characters and really come into their own. I would recommend this book to others and read more books by this author in the future.

P.S. I enjoyed the snippets from the Velocirapture (this was such a weird yet interesting idea!) novel and the Repunzel retelling. I’m really curious to see if the author will ever turn these snippets into real books.

To visit the author's website click here. To purchase this book, click the link below.